Q&A with Matt Sullivan, Engineering Technician

By October 22, 2018 Engineering News

Matt Sullivan, Engineering Technician

Q: When did you begin your career at DiPrete Engineering and how has your role evolved over the years?

A: I started at DiPrete in July of 2011. My role has changed dramatically, from facilities tasks and working in the “soils lab”, to coordinating submission print jobs, being on multiple Lean-based teams internally and business development, working on proposals and contracts.


Q: What does a typical work day look like for you?

A: A typical day will consist of setting up new potential projects in our system database, working with teammates to get formal proposals issued out to clients, and prepping approved contracts for the accounting department. Also, I spend a lot of time taking client calls on existing projects and “cold calls” for new work; helping to filter that work out to the appropriate people here at DiPrete and beginning the process of starting a new project with us (or continuing an existing one). In addition, I am always available as a resource for submissions and other miscellaneous tasks that others around the office may need help with.


Q: What do you enjoy most about your job?

A: Definitely the people. We have a great collection of talent and personalities here. Our people really care about the quality of their work and the reputation of the firm, and the pride we put into what we do shows. People are willing to try new processes with an eye towards improving our work, and in return, the management is always seeking ways to improve our experience here.


Q: Can you recall one of your proudest moments while working at DiPrete?

A: Probably when I was given the responsibility of handling the incoming survey/engineering calls and running with them. I am very cognizant of the fact that I am representing DiPrete Engineering every time I am talking to a client, so dealing directly with our clients conferred on me added responsibility, which to me meant that I had earned that trust from my superiors.


Q: Outside of work, what are some of your hobbies/interests?

A: My girlfriend Sara and I have an 18-month old daughter and a 2-month old son, so that keeps us busy around the house and with our extended families. When we can find babysitters Sara and I will usually be at a concert or making a short road trip to local places of interest. We both love to travel but have to keep our trips a little closer to home with the kids being so young. I am a big sports fan and love the outdoors, so I love to golf, play soccer, camp, hike, kayak, fish, etc. I also love to work in my yard and vegetable garden and I always have a good book or two going at home.